Making Blueberry Cobbler Means I’m Adult, and that Zombies Do Not Exist

Sometimes I wonder when I’m actually going to feel like an adult. Occasionally I think to myself, “Why, Christine, you are positively grown up today. Good for you.” But on other occasions (a lot of other occasions) I ask myself, “Good lord, when will middle school ever end?” and then I ask myself, “I’m supposed to be a role model for these high school kids? Who let that happen?” I mean, I’m wearing braces again. A couple times I’ve forgotten to wear deodorant. It’s perplexing. My brain doesn’t know what to think.

Confession: I’m 25 and I still call my mom when I’m in the grocery store because I get lost. Every. Single. Time. We live an hour apart and she’s never stepped foot in my grocery store, but I still call her for help. Yes, there is the option of talking to the store associates, but they look mean, and like they might start attacking my face if I ask the wrong question or make too much eye contact. And don’t say that would never happen, because have you been watching the news? Apparently it does happen.

Confession: I’m 25 and I’ve blown a snot bubble out of my nose while talking face to face with someone I’ve never met before. (That happened this weekend…how was your weekend? Hopefully there was a lack of stuff coming out of your nose.) They don’t know I don’t usually have snot bubbles coming out of my nose. They are probably thinking the same thing as me, which is, “For the love of God, what the heck just came out of your nose? How was this person allowed out without supervision?” What else can you do except try to laugh it off and then go outside and frantically try to wipe and snort in an attempt to stop blowing bubbles out of your nose?

There are times, though, when I do feel like an adult. Not when I realized there was no possibility of a zombie epidemic without the CDC telling me so; I was able to come to that conclusion because I was intelligent enough to pass the fifth grade. However, when I go to my parents’ house and I make them food and then when I actually clean up after myself, I say to myself “Good job, Christine. You’re an adult. You’ve grown up so well it almost negates the fact that a booger bubble came out of your nose today.”

Now that I’ve got your appetite raring to go, let’s talk about food. For Father’s Day I made a blueberry cobbler dessert. It’s one of my favorite recipes and I’ll completely and fully admit I’ve eaten a full baking dish of this all by myself. I don’t like to share. That’s a grown up trait, right? This recipe can easily become gluten free by substituting gluten free all-purpose flour instead of regular all-purpose flour (see my note about gluten-free flour above the recipe below). This recipe is so easy, it almost didn’t feel like I deserved the credit for being a grown up. But I’m going to take it, because I need all the help I can get.

Here’s a quick overview of what this recipe looks like:

The cardamom and vanilla photo bombed the ingredients for the blueberry filling. Ignore them, like you would ignore that drunk frat boy who manages to photo bomb every photo ever taken. I wonder if that guy ever grew up?

Blueberries, washed and nestled at the bottom of the baking dish.

Add in sugar and cornstarch…

…And then add in the lemon rind. Let this filling work it’s magic while you make the topping.

The cardamom and vanilla are still acting full of themselves, but at least they belong in this picture.

Mixing together the dry ingredients requires that you make sure everything is absolutely, positively mixed up. Don’t let a flour molecule sit next to another flour molecule. Make sure everyone gets along. (Teachers probably get that joke.)

Or you could just use a whisk and take ten seconds to mix up the dry stuff.

This is what the dough looks like when everything is added in. I added in more vanilla, because vanilla is awesome and it knows it.

When I make the dumplings, I make a “plop” noise in my head as it lands on the blueberries. That part is optional, but I’d highly recommend it. It also is a sure sign you have grown up.

Do. Not. Skip. This. First of all, I like brushing the milk on the biscuits because it feels like I’m painting. Second of all, the milk and the sprinkled sugar over the top add a really nice crunch on top.

Going into the oven. It’s like it’s growing up.

You know, it was pretty when it was raw, but now it’s just amazing looking.

The recipe called for 50 minutes of baking time, but here at high altitude, things just happen faster. I only baked these guys for 35 minutes.

I’m hungry. So hungry I first typed that as “hungy.” That’s my new word.

Take a picture of this when you first dish it out.

Because afterwards it will look like this.

A note about the flour I used: Because I made this dessert at my parents’ house for Father’s Day, I used my mom’s gluten-free flour mix. It’s probably the best flour I’ve used, and my mom is a pretty serious baker, so I highly recommend this mix. It comes from the blog Art of Gluten-Free Baking, by Jeanne, and is simply a mix of brown rice flour, white rice flour, tapioca flour, sweet rice flour and xanthan gum. You can find the full recipe here, at the bottom of the page.

One last thing, I’m sorry for talking about zombies, snot and food in the same post. Hopefully you’ll forgive me. If it helps, I’m going to have something really special for you in a couple weeks, so please don’t blog break up with me. (Is begging part of adulthood?)

Print this recipe!

Blueberry Cobbler (Adapted from Cooking Light)

Serves 6-8 (or 1)

Filling
6 pints fresh blueberries
1/3 cup sugar
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon grated lemon rind

Topping
1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
5 tablespoons chilled butter cut into small pieces
1 cup fat-free sour cream (you can add a little more if you’d like a slightly chewier dumpling)
3 tablespoons reduced-fat milk, plus extra for brushing
1 teaspoon sugar
Vanilla extract
Cardamom

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. For the filling, combine all four ingredients (blueberries through lemon rind) in a 7×11 baking dish and set aside.

3. For the topping, combine the first five ingredients (flour through baking soda) in a large bowl and whisk together to combine. Add butter using either a pastry blender or cutting the pieces with two knives until the mixture looks something like coarse meal. Mix in sour cream, milk, and add cardamom and vanilla to taste. Stir to create a soft dough; it should be fairly sticky.

4. Drop spoonfuls of dough to create 6-8 dumplings on top of the blueberries. Brush on milk and sprinkle sugar over the top of the dumplings.

5. Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes (around 35-40 at high altitude), or until the dumplings are lightly browned and the blueberry filling is bubbling.

6 comments

    • Thank you! The blueberries came from Sprouts Farmer’s Market. Sprouts has really awesome produce and I so wish they were closer to my home.

      Also, I have to tell you, you have a seriously adorable blog. I love it!

    • Thanks for coming over, Jeanne! And for your kind words. And for your fabulous gf flour mix. And for your blog. Just so many things to say thanks for! :)


Leave a Reply

